You are here

Schedule 2016

 

LEVEL OF DIFFICULTY

How difficult, or easy, any particular ride/tour may depends on many factors and is largely subjective to an individual’s experience, skills, and physical ability. 

Many of the VCB rides are scenic inspiring rides, often with social lunch stops and good company. Increasingly, there are “NSP” rides (No Set Pace), allowing people of different ride abilities to meet at the same starting point and form groups to ride the course at one set level to have the same great ride experience.

  1. Easy Rides/Tours that have a Relaxed & Leisure pace, (average speed 15 - 19 km/h) on roads or pathways, paved or hard packed surfaces, and distances usually not more than 40 km.  Often there are more stops for breaks on these rides. Most persons, with or without cycling experience, who have a reasonable fitness level, can reasonably cycle on these tours.
  1. Moderate  – Rides/Tours typically with a Moderate pace, (average speed 20 - 24 km/h) distances between 40 km and 60 km per day.  Riders need overall good fitness level and stamina and some cycling experience.
  1. Challenging  – Rides/Tours typically at a Fast pace, (average speed 25 - 29km/h) often over longer distances, and/or terrain with steep or long climbs.  Shorter rides may also be challenging due to sustained fast pace and/or hilly terrain. This level of cycling difficulty will attract experienced riders with good fitness levels. 

Some of the other issues that factor in to cycling difficulty include weather conditions (e.g., wind, temperature, and precipitation) and bicycle/equipment (i.e., best style, fit, and adjustment of bicycle and right gears, tires, etc. for the type of tour). In addition, personal factors such as overall physical fitness, physical and mental health on any given tour/ride day, and individual cycling skills (e.g., cycling technique, proper use of gearing, bike handling on the road/trail) affect cycling difficulty.

Less experienced riders may not realize their own abilities and limitations.  If not sure about the difficulty of a particular level for you, experience “Easy” rides at first to figure out your cycling abilities before progressing to a higher level.

Title Date (sortable) Meeting Ride Leader Distance (km) Level
52 Week Bike Challenge Friday, January 15, 2016 - 11:00pm to Saturday, December 31, 2016 - 12:00pm
WOW rides start Tuesday, May 31, 2016 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm Coxheath Arena, Keltic Drive. Shelley Johnson >20 Easy & Moderate
WoW Ride Tuesday, June 7, 2016 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm Coxheath Arena, Keltic Drive. Shelley Johnson >20 Easy
WOW ride Tuesday, June 14, 2016 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm Coxheath Arena, Keltic Drive. Shelley Johnson >20 Easy
WOW ride Tuesday, June 21, 2016 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm Coxheath Arena, Keltic Drive. Shelley Johnson >25 Easy
The BIG RIDE Sunday, July 17, 2016 - 8:00am Baddeck
Ride and Brunch Isle Madame - POSTPONED Sunday, August 7, 2016 - 10:00am Dooley's Pharmacy, Arichat. Jessica 20 - 60 Easy to Moderate
WOW Ride Tuesday, June 28, 2016 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm Coxheath Arena, Keltic Drive. Shelley Johnson >25 Easy
Destination Ride - Boisdale Community Hall. Sunday, May 1, 2016 - 9:00am to 12:00pm Leave from anywhere you like (see map below). Yourself Various NSP
Meet the Tour du Lac Bras d'Or Tourers Monday, August 1, 2016 - 9:00am Leave from anywhere you like and... Yourself your own Moderate
Winter Potluck Saturday, January 16, 2016 - 5:30am
Ride of Silence Wednesday, May 18, 2016 - 6:30pm Sydney Shopping Center, Prince St. Sydney Vic Gouthro 11 Easy
Be Emmazing! Sunday, May 1, 2016 - 9:30am Coxheath Arena Vic Gouthro 5 - 10 NSP
Out on the Mira Sunday, October 2, 2016 - 1:00pm Mullins Shell Station, Albert Bridge Vic Gouthro 30 Easy & Moderate
SummerFit Challenge Sunday, May 1, 2016 - 12:00am to Saturday, September 24, 2016 - 12:00pm
Snowshoe Jaunt under the Moonlight Friday, January 22, 2016 - 6:00pm
Snowshoe Jaunt under the Moonlight Saturday, February 20, 2016 - 6:00pm Ski Ben Eoin Micheline, 3 - 6 Easy
Earth Day Ride Saturday, April 23, 2016 - 11:15am Coxheath Arena Micheline G. & Jacques C. 10, 20, 22 Easy & Moderate
Bike Clinics and Basic Repairs at Farmers Market - 1 Saturday, April 9, 2016 - 8:30am to 1:00pm
Bike Clinics and Basic Repairs at Farmers Market - 2 Saturday, May 7, 2016 - 8:30am to 1:00pm
Bike Clinics and Basic Repairs at Farmers Market - 3 Saturday, May 14, 2016 - 8:30am to 1:00pm
Tour du Lac Bras d'Or - 2016 Friday, July 29, 2016 - 10:00am to Monday, August 1, 2016 - 4:00pm 1432 King's Rd. Sydney River Jacques Coté 343 Challenging
Show-N-Go Rides from Coxheath Arena Thursday, June 2, 2016 - 6:00pm Coxheath Arena, Micheline & Jacques 20 - 40 Easy & Moderate
Show-N-Go Rides from Coxheath Arena 2/5 Thursday, June 9, 2016 - 6:00pm Coxheath Arena, Micheline & Jacques 20 - 40 Easy & Moderate
Show-N-Go Rides from Coxheath Arena 3/5 Thursday, June 16, 2016 - 6:00pm Coxheath Arena, Micheline & Jacques 20 - 40 Easy & Moderate
Show-N-Go Rides from Coxheath Arena 4/5 Thursday, June 23, 2016 - 6:00pm Coxheath Arena, Micheline & Jacques 20 - 40 Easy & Moderate
Show-N-Go Rides from Coxheath Arena - Last Thursday, June 30, 2016 - 6:00pm Coxheath Arena, Micheline & Jacques 20 - 40 Easy & Moderate
Kelly's Klimb - Test your fitness event. Sunday, May 15, 2016 - 11:00am TCH 105, Exit 10, Lobster Galley Restaurant Chris Milburn 15 Challenging
Cape Breton Challenge - Leg 1 Monday, May 23, 2016 - 10:00am Big Fiddle, Govt. Wharf, Sydney Jacques Coté 35.8 Easy
Cape Breton Challenge - Leg #24 Saturday, May 28, 2016 - 10:00am Escape Outdoors, 299 Commercial St. North Sydney Jacques Coté 20.4 Easy
Lobster Roll Ride 2016 - North Sydney Firefighters Club Sunday, June 19, 2016 - 9:00am North Sydney Firefighter Club, 73 Pierce St. Andrée Crépeau, Chair, 20 -40 All
Englishtown MusselFest Ride Saturday, June 25, 2016 - 11:00am Englishtown Community Hall Organized by Musselfest 33-45-61km Easy & Moderate
Heath Fair at CBU Wednesday, February 3, 2016 - 11:00am to 2:00pm
VCB Board Monthly Meeting Thursday, February 4, 2016 - 6:30pm
Ride Right Program Saturday, April 30, 2016 - 10:00am
Cape Breton Challenge ride - Legs 5, 6 and 7 Friday, July 1, 2016 - 10:00am Intersection Gabarus/Fleur de Lys Trail. Micheline, 87 - 174 Moderate & Challenging
4-Day Self-supported Tour - CB Challenge - Legs 11, 12, 13 and 14 Wednesday, August 10, 2016 - 10:00am Port Hawkesbury Micheline, 221
Heartland Tour in Sydney Saturday, July 16, 2016 - 9:00am Wentworth Park - Sydney Elaine Swartz Various Easy & Moderate
Ride Into the Past - Historical tour to Kennington Cove. Monday, October 10, 2016 - 10:00am Royal Battery Parking Lot - Louisbourg Eliot Frosst 8 Easy
Recovery Ride around the Cabot Trail - 3 days - CB Challenge Legs #15 - 22 Friday, September 16, 2016 - 9:00am to Sunday, September 18, 2016 - 5:00pm Baddeck Ken Cadegan 300 Challenging
Annual Tour Da Tartan Sunday, September 18, 2016 - 9:30am Englishtown Ferry Shelley Johnson 35 Easy
VCB Board Monthly Meeting Thursday, March 10, 2016 - 6:30pm
WOW Ride Tuesday, July 5, 2016 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm Coxheath Arena, Keltic Drive. Shelley Johnson >25 Easy
Destination Ride to Grand Narrows Sunday, August 21, 2016 - 10:30am From anywhere you want. See map below Yourself See map NSP
Getting the Most out of your Bicycle Thursday, March 3, 2016 - 7:00pm McConnell Library, 50 Falmouth St, Sydney
River Ride and BBQ - Season Starter Saturday, May 7, 2016 - 2:30pm Mira Boat Club, 545 Hillside Road, Albert Bridge Colette Smith 30 All
Ride Right Program Sunday, May 1, 2016 - 9:00am
Ride Right Program Saturday, May 7, 2016 - 9:30am
Ride Right Program Sunday, May 8, 2016 - 9:30am
Ride Right Program Saturday, May 14, 2016 - 9:00am
Ride Right Program Sunday, May 15, 2016 - 9:00am
Ride Right Program Saturday, May 21, 2016 - 9:00am
Ride Right Program Sunday, May 22, 2016 - 9:00am
Ride Right Program Saturday, May 28, 2016 - 9:00am
Ride Right Program Saturday, June 4, 2016 - 9:00am
Ride Right Program Sunday, June 5, 2016 - 9:00am
Ride Right Program Saturday, June 11, 2016 - 9:00am
Ride Right Program Sunday, June 12, 2016 - 9:00am
Ride Right Program Saturday, June 18, 2016 - 9:00am
Ride Right Program Sunday, May 29, 2016 - 9:00am
Law Enforcement Torch Run Thursday, May 12, 2016 - 6:30pm Centre 200 You are your own leader. Easy
Impromptu Ride, CB Chalenge Leg #2 Sunday, May 29, 2016 - 10:00am Tim Horton, Reserve Mines, Jacques Coté 50km Easy to Moderate
Impromptu Ride Saturday, June 4, 2016 - 10:00am Mira Ferry Market, Albert Bridge XTR Micheline 20 & 55 km Easy to Moderate
Impromptu Ride Sunday, June 5, 2016 - 10:00am Mira Ferry Market, Albert Bridge XTR Jacques 23 or 56 Moderate, some climbs
Impromptu Ride, Marion Bridge to Gabarus Saturday, June 11, 2016 - 10:00am Parking spot 200metres south of the bridge. Micheline 49 Easy to Moderate
Impromptu Ride, CB Chalenge Leg #23 Sunday, June 12, 2016 - 10:00am Jacques 40 & 75 Moderate
Impromptu Ride - Meet Gen. Kelly Saturday, June 18, 2016 - 10:00am KOA Cmpgnd (Seal Isld. Brdg) Micheline 30 or 65km Moderate
Lost Shores Gran Fondo Saturday, September 10, 2016 - 9:00am Guysborough
Great Tartan Ramble Thursday, July 21, 2016 - 6:30pm North Sydney, 299 Commercial Street. Sherry Finney 5k in town Easy & Moderate
2016 VCB's Annual General Meeting Thursday, November 3, 2016 - 5:30pm CBRM Civic Centre, Lower Level Community Room.
VCB Annual Potluck Saturday, January 21, 2017 - 2:30pm Sydney Curling Club, George St. Sydney Andrée Crépeau, Chair, All
Jingle Bell Ride in the 'hood Sunday, December 18, 2016 - 5:45pm Kenny's Pizza, Sydney River. Shelley "WOW" Johnson 8 All
Cabot Trail in 4 Days Tour 2017 Saturday, August 5, 2017 - 10:00am to Tuesday, August 8, 2017 - 4:00pm Gaelic College, St. Ann's Bay, Nova Scotia Colette Smith 300 Moderate
River Ride & BBQ 2017 Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 3:00pm Mira Boat Club 15 or 30km All
Ride of Silence - 2017 Wednesday, May 17, 2017 - 6:30pm Sydney Shopping Center, Prince Street Vic Gouthro 11 Easy
WoW-Sydney Tuesday, May 30, 2017 - 6:00pm Open Hearth Park Micheline Guillot TBD Easy
WoW-Glace Bay Tuesday, May 30, 2017 - 6:00pm Seaview Manor at the end of South Street Colette Smith TDB Easy
Kelly's Klimb - Test Your Fitness Saturday, June 10, 2017 - 1:30pm Lobster Galley Restaurant, St. Anne's Chris Milburn 7km Intermediate
Thursday Morning Ride Thursday, June 1, 2017 - 10:00am McDonald's Restaurant, Sydney River Micheline Guillot TBD Advanced
WoW Lilac and Lupine Ride Thursday, June 15, 2017 - 6:00pm Coxheath Arena, Keltic Drive. Patricia Babin 25 Easy
Bike to Bite Ride Saturday, June 10, 2017 - 9:00am Big Baddeck Road, next to Baddeck Forks Golf Cours Vince Forrestall 10 Easy
Englishtown Musselfest Saturday, June 24, 2017 - 11:00am Englishtown Community Hall
WoW Northside Circuit Saturday, July 8, 2017 - 10:00am North Sydney Mall Rosalind Wright 35 Easy-Moderate
Heartland Tour 2017 - Sydney Thursday, July 13, 2017 - 8:00am Membertou Sport & Wellness Center TBD Multiple Multiple
Thursday Morning Ride Thursday, June 29, 2017 - 10:00am McDonald's Restaurant, Sydney River Micheline Guillot 20-40 TBD
Thursday Morning Ride Thursday, July 6, 2017 - 10:00am McDonald's Restaurant, Sydney River Micheline Guillot 20-40 TBD
Ride Lake Ainsley Saturday, July 22, 2017 - 10:00am Whycocomagh - Provincial Campground Parking Lot Micheline Guillot 60-80 Easy-Moderate
Ride Little Narrows & S. Washabuck Sunday, July 23, 2017 - 10:00am Whycocomagh - Provincial Campground Parking Lot Micheline Guillot 50-70 Easy-Moderate
WoW New Victoria Harbour Ride Saturday, August 12, 2017 - 10:00am Open Hearth Park Rosalind Wright 35 Easy-Moderate
Isle Madame with Brunch Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 10:00am Arichat Courthouse, 2575 Highway 206 Brian Spicer 20-60 TBD
Grand Narrows Car Show Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 10:30am Beaver Cove Take Out TBD 44 TBD
Wow Friends of Gabarus Ride Saturday, August 26, 2017 - 12:00pm Marion Bridge Rosalind Wright 50 Moderate
WoW Annual Tour da Tartan Saturday, September 16, 2017 - 9:30am Englishtown Ferry Shelley Johnson 35 Moderate
Ride on the Mira Sunday, October 15, 2017 - 1:00pm Mullin's Store, Albert Bridge Vic Gouthro 30 Easy-Moderate

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer